Paramore BRAND NEW EYES Album Review

If you can’t see the above video, click here.

Buy Paramore’s Brand New Eyes from Amazon!

Several weeks ago, I got the newest CD by Paramore, who are one of my favorite bands to come out in the past 10 years. Their newest CD is called Brand New Eyes, and it’s pretty damn awesome to say the least. Let’s begin the review, shall we?:

Personal Backstory

I remember first hearing about Paramore in an issue of Guitar World. Back then, the idea of a female-fronted rock band was a breath of fresh air. I later looked up some of their songs on YouTube and then got their smash hit albums All We Know Is Falling and Riot. I’ve been a Paramore fan ever since. I absolutely love songs like Emergancy, Pressure, Misery Business, and CrushCrushCrush.

Since Riot! was released, Paramore certainly set the bar pretty high for their followup album. Time to dive right into Brand New Eyes!

The Goodies

I’ve got to say, this has got to be Paramore’s most introspective album yet! That’s not to say it’s a giant wussfest chock full of ballads and acoustic numbers, no, far from it!

If the first single Ignorance is any indication, then we’re in for quite a pop punk treat! It’s Paramore through and through, a high energy sound that reminds me of early Good Charlotte and Blink-182 with some Green Day thrown in for taste.

The song that was on the Twilight soundtrack, Decode, is also really well done. The clean guitar parts show off their competent but non-flashy guitar work, which is one of my favorite parts of Paramore. Sure they know how to play, but everything meshes together beautifully without somebody showing off for 30 seconds at a time.

Although I said that this album wasn’t full of acoustic songs and ballads, it does have a couple good ones. The Only Exception and Misguided Ghosts are nicely done without sounding thrown in.

The Baddies & The Uglies

Trying to find faults in this album is like finding faults in a box of cute puppies; sure you might some, but who cares, it’s a box of puppies!

I’ve honeslty tried to find one thing about this album to criticise, but I haven’t found any yet. No crappy thrown-in songs, no fake overly-sappy ballads, no weird experimental freak-outs, nothing. The entire album is seriously all killer, no filler!

The Verdict

With an album that’s greatly introspective but still remains true to the band’s style, Paramore’s Brand New Eyes is a pop-punk delight that’s a perfect successor to Riot!.

6 Tracks To Give a Clicky-Click

– Ignorance

– Playing God

– Brick By Boring Brick

– Turn It Off

– All I Wanted

– Decode